WEA Teachers Receive Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards

Ten Wyoming teachers, three of whom are Wyoming Education Association teachers, were honored May 7, 2014, as recipients of the prestigious statewide Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award at a ceremony in Gillette, Wyoming.

Arch Coal President and Chief Executive Officer John W. Eaves, accompanied by Gov. Matt Mead, Wyoming First Lady Carol Mead and Wyoming Education Association (WEA) President Kathy Vetter, presented awards to:

Jennifer Marie Mellizo – General Music, UW Lab School, Laramie

Peggy Lynn Miller – Mathematics, Cody High School, Cody

Wayne Thomas Tuttle – Fifth Grade, Summit School, Casper

Each teacher received a personal cash award of $3,500 from the Arch Coal Foundation, as well as a distinctive trophy and plaque. The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards program, now completing its 14th year in Wyoming, is the state’s longest-running privately sponsored teacher recognition program.

“These educators are fantastic examples of the caliber of teachers we have in Wyoming,” Vetter said. “These remarkable teachers challenge their students’ abilities, as well as teach them how to succeed. These teachers are true champions of public education in Wyoming.  The WEA is proud to have been involved with the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards recognition program since its inception 14 years ago.”

“Wyoming’s classroom teachers are shaping the next generation of leaders in our communities and beyond,” said Eaves. “Arch Coal is proud to have taken a leadership role in Wyoming to ensure that the state’s star teachers are recognized for their contributions.”

“Teachers do more than instruct – they inspire,” Mead said. “They change lives, influence communities and cultivate a lifelong love for learning. Carol and I thank Arch Coal for honoring excellence in education and for allowing us to join in spotlighting exceptional teachers. We congratulate this year’s honorees on their selection and salute them for their contribution to Wyoming’s future.”

This year, over 1,000 teachers were nominated in Wyoming.  Nominations for the awards are made by the public, and selection is made by a blue-ribbon panel of the teachers’ peers, all past recipients of the Teacher Achievement Award.

The Wyoming Department of Education, the Wyoming Education Association, the Wyoming library community, Taco John’s and Loaf ‘N Jug stores are longstanding supporters of the program. The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher-recognition and grants programs in West Virginia, Utah and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Arch Coal’s Wyoming operations – Thunder Basin Coal Company’s Black Thunder and Coal Creek mines and Arch of Wyoming – have a combined workforce of about 1,750. Arch Coal and the Arch Coal Foundation have a long history of supporting educational and community causes in Wyoming. For more information, visit www.archcoal.com.

2014 Arch Coal Award Winners

This area is for your feature description which can be up to two full lines of text.